2015 Year in Review

2015 Running Year in Review:

This past year was another year in my progression as a runner. The more I learn about running, training, etc. the more I come to understand how true the words of Bruce Denton are in Once a Runner, “The Secret is there is no secret.” The key to continued success as a runner is about consistent training, day after day, week after week, year after year. The trial of miles, the miles of trials. This year was another 12 months to add to my training block.

January of 2015 brought with it a great change in my life with the birth of our second son, as I get older life gets more hectic and brings with it new priorities. With work, coaching, and now two boys at home hard training and racing certainly took a back seat on many occasions. This past year, I raced fewer times than I have in any year since I began racing. In total I think I ran 9 races (2 mile races, a 2 mile, a 3 mile, and 5 5Ks).

As a result of racing less, most of my “goals” became consistency. I think the cool thing about racing less and logging more (and more consistent) mileage is the races that I did run tended to be on average much more successful. I think I certainly lost a little in terms of racing sharpness, but gained in heavy volumes of training.

Here are some numbers on the running that I did this past year:

Total miles run 3,524 (over 300 more than last year)

353 out of 365 days I ran

Did not miss a day after August 8th

I ended the year with 21 straight weeks over 70 miles, and 29 of the last 30

The second half of the year (July 1st on) I ran 1973 miles (10.8 a day)

I did run one PR this year, in the mile. I ran 4:31. It was quite a shock to me as the goal going into the race was to break 4:40. I closed that race in 2:12 (which also maybe an 800 PR). Now I have hopes of a sub 4:30 mile in the future.

A few other highlights from my running:

Getting to take E on his first stroller run, he had a huge smile and was giggling the entire time. As a plus it’s much easier to push a 10 month old than it is a 3 year old.

Not to be out done by his younger brother Q has taken to running lots of races. We constantly run from the bedroom, down the hall, into the living room, around the ottoman and back. Of course we have to set up some hurdles and do “drills” before we race. Q has also recently added “running” on the treadmill. He feels comfortable at 2.5 mph. I guess the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

I ran the Footlocker Midwest Open race. It was a blast, cross country is really lots of fun. Throw the times out the window and just compete over hill and dale. I wish there were more opportunities to run XC races around here.

The XC team I coach did qualify for the state finals for the second straight year and finished 20th place, it was the highest team finish in school history. A nice end to their running legacy, as the school will close this year due to financial problems. On a related note if you know anyone who needs a social science teacher who can coach XC and track, I’m there man.

I got very into podcasts this year. A few of my current favorites are Steve Magness and John Marcus’s podcast, Jay Johnson’s Run Faster Podcast, and The Coach Ben Rosario Show. I subscribe to all three and they are loaded with great running information. With enjoying them so much I decided to start my own, so I have been interviewing local high school coaches, there have been 3 episodes so far, with hopefully many more to come. If you want to take a listen: here you go.

Looking ahead to 2016 I have a few different ideas bouncing around in my head. The most immediate goal is to run a fast 10K. I think I have a target race at a local college track meet. The goal is to run the women’s Olympic A standard for the 10K, with most of my training geared towards running 32:00. I know I have a huge base from the last 8 months, now it’s a matter of getting race ready. I think the focus will be on longer tempo efforts. That coupled with shorter faster stuff that I will most certainly be doing with the track team should set me up well for success.

I do have thoughts of maybe giving the marathon another go. Probably not this year, but maybe next. If I ran Chicago 2017 that would be the 10 year anniversary of my first marathon. So maybe a 2017 Chicago and then a 2018 Boston.

Hopefully everyone had a safe and happy new year, and best of luck on the roads, track and trials this coming year.

Leave a Reply

